Skip to content
April 27, 2013 / JayMan

An H/T to P&T

I’d be remiss to not give credit to two guys who have been a great inspiration to me and have helped to set me on my present path.

spot-icon-penn-and-teller-bullshit-2128361-200-200Second only to getting at the truth, I think the desire to debunk bullshit is one of my primary motivations. While I’ve long been a critical thinker, Penn & Teller: Bullshit! gave me extra gusto to root out falsehoods regardless (or probably especially because) of how popular or deeply enshrined they are, a pattern that continues to this day. 😉

One would think that’s otherwise known as simply being a scientist, but for some reason that doesn’t appear to be the quite the case in today’s society…

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. szopeno / Apr 27 2013 12:30 PM

    BTW, Jayman, I loved reading your discussion with other liberals 😀

    A thought: just occured to me that regression to mean should happened with outcomes on liberal/conservative attitudes, isn’t it? That is, extreme conservatist on average should have children more conservative that average joe, but still less conservatist than their parents, am I right?

    • JayMan / Apr 27 2013 1:00 PM

      Thanks. 🙂

      Yes. Assuming that the narrow-sense heritability of political orientation is in the 0.3-0.4 range, there should be a regression to the mean of about (1 – 0.4)nσ of political attitudes per generation, I believe. With secular effects on top of that.

  2. Greying Wanderer / Apr 27 2013 3:23 PM

    I think this is connected to the idea of most scientists doing their best work when young men i.e. i think part of the desire to knock over existing truths comes from aggression which is partly related to youth. Particularly irascible scientists might not suffer from that problem.

  3. Adalwolf / Apr 29 2013 3:01 AM

    Yesterday I had to explain to someone that, no, it is impossible for a random German to be more genetically similar to any African man than to his/her neighbour, because the similarity of two people’s genomes increases the more and the more recent ancestors they share.
    I suppose we could do with fellas like these—or you—in our country too…

    • JayMan / Apr 29 2013 4:16 PM

      Every society needs at least a few… 😉

  4. Sideways / May 10 2013 9:19 PM

    Their immigration episode was pretty awful.

    • JayMan / May 10 2013 11:51 PM

      I don’t agree with all their views. Still, it takes a certain amount of orneriness to make a show titled Bullshit and set out to expose such. Does that mean that they are always correct? No, but it was inspiring.

Trackbacks

  1. “Misdreavus” Musings | JayMan's Blog
  2. “Squid Ink” | JayMan's Blog

Comments are welcome and encouraged. Comments DO NOT require name or email. Your very first comment must be approved by me. Be civil and respectful. NO personal attacks against myself or another commenter. Also, NO sock puppetry. If you assert a claim, please be prepared to support it with evidence upon request. Thank you!

